The Outstanding Young Conductor Award

Beginning in 2003, ACDA PA annually recognizes the efforts of a new or aspiring young conductor at its summer conference. Read below to learn more of the specific criteria for nominees.

Past Recipients

2003 - Joseph Farrell
2004 - Sharon Rotuna
2005 - Mark Dolan and Jill Tocket
2006 - Shaun Cloonan
2007 - Andreas Cladera and Charles Masters
2008 - Brian Winnie
2009 - Jason Bishop
2010 - Christie McKinney
2011 - Elizabeth Colpo
2012 - Ben Murray
2013 - Kristin Paschen
2014 - Emily Fredericks

Candidates must meet the following criteria:

•full or part-time continuous employment as a choral conductor in Pennsylvania for 3 - 5 years
•outstanding leadership and musicianship in any choral field - education, sacred music, or other professional choral music making
•impact on the size or quality of their program including significant contributions to the program and/or musical life of others as measured by the number of participants, improved quality, and/or community impact
•special consideration may be given to active members of ACDA.


Any member of ACDA PA is eligible to nominate a candidate for the award by submitting a letter of nomination by May 1st of the nominating year. Nominating letters should evidence examples of the criteria above and must include name/address of nominee, name/address of professional position (current, or former). Completed letters should be sent to:

Randy Yoder, Vice-President
2101 Eastern Blvd.
York, PA 17402

The selection will be made by the Executive Board of ACDA PA and will be presented at the summer conference. The award shall consist of a commemorative plaque and a complimentary conference registration.

Download Nomination Form (pdf)